UNILAK Administration

General Assembly

The General Assembly is composed by the founders of UNILAK. These are various secondary schools Representatives and Directors that make up the Federation of Adventist Parents Associations for the Development of Education in Rwanda (FAPADER). Those schools are namely, APACE, APADE, APADEK, APADENYA, APAER, APARPE, APARUDI, ASPEJ, UMWUNGERI, APADEM, and APAPEN.

The General Assembly is composed by the founders of UNILAK. These are their duties:

  • Adoption and amendment of the Statutes and internal rules and regulations;
  • Election and dismissal of the legal representative and his deputy as well as members of the Board of Directors except elected members;
  • Appointment and dismissal of members of Executive Council nomination and dismissal of members except elected members
  • Request of the dissolution of the Institution and allocation of its real estate.
  • Adoption and revision of Internal rules and regulations of the Association
  • Adoption of the plan, budget, and accounts of the association
  • Admission and dismissal of members
  • Appointment of Board chairperson and members of the Board.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the supreme managing body of UNILAK. The Board of Directors has the following responsibilities:

  • Provide advices on the UNILAK education policy and monitor its implementation;
  • Set the internal regulations of UNILAK;
  • Approve the budget of  UNILAK;
  • Approve the annual report on the use of funds and assets of UNILAK based on the report from the Vice Chancellor internal auditor or another authorized body;
  • Approve the UNILAK short, medium and long term action plan;
  • Approve the annual activity plan of the Institution and the associated budget;
  • Approve Senate’s decisions, related especially to the delivery of degrees, the recruitment, the promotion, the setting for teachers and researchers, as well as sanctions inflicted on them where necessary ;
  • Approve the Senior Management‘s decisions on financial management,  as well as on UNILAK’s  assets and staff ;
  • Fix the amount of fees payable by students and the amount to be invested in general  services of UNILAK;
  • Decide the beneficiaries of bursary loans and prizes to be  granted by UNILAK;
  • Approve loans, donations, subsidies and legacies granted to UNILAK ;
  • Ensure the fulfillment of any other task tallying with the accomplishment of the UNILAK’s mission ;
  • Approve agreements signed between UNILAK and other institutions of Higher learning, research centers and other bodies.
  • Approve spiritual, socio-cultural and sports activity plans.

The Board of Directors is composed of the following members:

  1. Chair person: Dr. Sentama Ezechiel
  2. Deputy Chairperson: Mrs. Murekatete Alphonsine
  3. Secretary: Dr. Ngamije Jean

Other Members of the Board of Directors

  1. Mr. Richard Niyonkuru
  2. Mrs. Lois Nyirasoni
  3. Dr. Benjamin Iyamuremye
  4. Dr. Celestin Museruka
  5. Dr. R. Josaphat Mugabo

Senior Management

The Senior Management is in charge of the following:

  • Ensure the daily and harmonious management of UNILAK;
  • Propose course programs to the Academic Senate;
  • Propose to the Board the nomination of members of the teaching and research  permanent staff, as well as administration officers;
  • Propose to the Board the status of the teaching and administration staff;
  • Propose to the Board the general academic regulations;
  • Draw up and propose the annual budget to the Board for approval, and ensure its implementation;
  • Nomination of part-time teaching staff from the proposal  of  the Dean of the faculty or the Rector of the institute;
  • Nomination and promotion of members of the UNILAK support staff.

The Senior Management is composed of:

  • The Vice Chancellor (Dr. Jean NGAMIJE), who is the Chairperson;
  • The Deputy Vice Chancellor for Administration and Finance (Mr. Richard NIYONKURU)
  • Campus Coordinators (Prof. Raphael BYAKAGABA & Dr. Javan SEMANA)
  • Deans of Faculties; (Dr. Augustin RUTAMU , Dr. Militery N. Olivier, Mr. Robert TURYAHEBWA)
  • Director of Quality Assurance (Mr. Emmanuel HAKIZIMANA)
  • Director of Academics Affairs and Registrar (Mr. KAGEMANA Gaston)


Supreme body responsible for academic affairs, research, and education,  As such, the Academic Senate is in charge of the following: 

  • Set strategies, programs and academic and research calendars to be submitted to the  Board for approval  before they are implemented;
  • Set strategies and programs  for adequate education of Rwandan citizens;
  • Prepare and submit to the Board for approval , academic regulations regarding admission conditions, teaching conditions, conduct, examination conduct, degrees and certificates delivered by UNILAK;
  • Appraise decisions made  about exams or other assessments,  and submit them to the Board for approval;
  • Prepare and submit to the  Board, proposals  regarding  recruitment, promotion, as well as  teachers and researchers sanctions  where necessary;
  • Lead and supervise activities related to teaching and research , as well as education within  faculties, departments and centers of the Institution;
  • Prepare and submit to the Board, proposals on creation, reduction, change, suppression or merging of faculties, departments, and specialized centers of UNILAK ;
  • Prepare and submit to the Board for approval, proposals on subdivision, merging or closure of the Institution ;
  • Prepare and submit to the  Board for approval , the annual report of all academic, research and educational  activities of the Institution;
  • Prepare and submit to the Board for approval, spiritual, socio-cultural and sports activity plans of UNILAK;
  • Prepare the permanent training plan for  the UNILAK staff;

Fulfill any other task as may be assigned by the Board.

The Academic Senate is made up of:

  • The Vice Chancellor of the Institution, who is the Chairperson;
  • The Deputy Vice Chancellor of the Institution, including the Deputy Vice Chancellor in charge of Academic Affairs, who shall serve as the Vice-Chairperson and Reporter of the Senate;
  • The Deans of Faculties and Directors of specialized Centers of the Institution;
  • An ordinary Lecturer per Faculty or per center elected by his or her colleagues;
  • The Heads of Departments;
  • A Professor per Faculty or per center elected by his or her colleagues;
  • The Director of the Library of the Institution and all other Directors;
  • The student in charge of Academic Affairs in the students’ Association of the Institution;
  • A student per Faculty or per center of the Institution elected by his or her fellow students.